The Breakfast of Champions


It’s Thursday, June 17 (you know, last week) and the LA Lakers have just defeated the Boston Celtics to win their second NBA Championship in a row. While the City of Angels begins to riot, the post game interviews are also taking place.

In walks Mr. Crazy himself, Ron Artest. (After he thanked his shrink on national television, of course.) So, what is the first thing this great player says when he walks into his interview?

“I got my Wheaties!” That’s right, he’s got his Wheaties.

I don’t want to make this post about Artest, although I could go on for years about his eccentricities, but he is the perfect example of what I believe Wheaties boxes are all about. Artest went from being a major part of the NBA’s craziest brawl in 2004, to helping his team when a championship in 2010. He is by all means a champion, which has been solidified by having the LA Lakers on the iconic orange box. (Oh yeah, and that shiny championship ring.)

So I say all of that to say this, Wheaties boxes are cool. I’ve never tasted one single Wheaty (singular?), nor do I have any desire to, but I can’t deny this cereal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

